Leading social scientists elected to the Fellowship of the Academy of Social Sciences

The Academy of Social Sciences is delighted to welcome 47 leading social scientists to our Fellowship this autumn.

Elected for their substantial contributions to social science, this autumn’s cohort of Fellows highlight the importance, breadth and relevance of the social sciences to tackling the pressing issues facing society today. Their work spans a range of research areas including housing, homelessness and social care in marginalised communities, sustainable investing and behavioural finance, and international drug policy. As well as excellence in research, many of our new Fellows, who are drawn from a variety of backgrounds, disciplines and professions, have also made outstanding contributions to industry, policy and higher education.

President of the Academy, Will Hutton, said: “It’s a pleasure to welcome these 47 leading social scientists to the Academy’s Fellowship. Throughout their careers so far, they have furthered our understanding, and made practical contributions, in a range of areas including improving the lives of children and adolescents in sub-Saharan Africa, post-conflict educational reforms and the role of education in peacebuilding, and working with planning authorities to value ecosystem services. I look forward to meeting and working with them to further promote the importance of the social sciences.

The Academy’s Fellowship comprises over 1,500 leading social scientists from academia, the public, private and third sectors. Our Fellows’ expertise covers the breadth of the social sciences, and their practice and research addresses some of the major challenges facing communities, society, places and economies. All Academy Fellows are selected through an independent peer review which recognises their excellence and impact, including their wider contributions to social sciences for public benefit.

The new Fellows have been elected from 30 UK organisations, including 22 Higher Education Institutions and four non-profits, and from countries beyond the UK including Belgium, Canada and China.

We warmly welcome them to the Academy and look forward to engaging with them to advance understanding of our contemporary human world and to shape a better future.

The full list of this autumn’s Fellows:

  • Professor David Abbott, Professor of Social Policy, University of Bristol
  • Professor Anya Ahmed, Professor of Wellbeing and Communities, Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Professor Angharad Beckett, Professor of Political Sociology and Social Inclusion, School of Sociology and Social Policy, University of Leeds
  • Professor David Bewley-Taylor, Professor of International Relations and Public Policy, Swansea University
  • Professor Sir Richard Blundell CBE, Ricardo Professor of Political Economy, Department of Economics University College London
  • Professor Wendy Carlin FBA CBE, Professor of Economics, Department of Economics, University College London
  • Mr Mike Clancy, General Secretary, Prospect Union
  • Professor Lucie Cluver, Professor in Child and Family Social Work, University of Oxford
  • Professor D’Maris Coffman, Professor of Economics and Finance of the Built Environment, University College London
  • Professor Giorgia Doná, Professor of Forced Migration and Refugee Studies, University of East London
  • Professor Susan Easton, Emeritus Professor of Law, Brunel Law School, Brunel University
  • Professor Alex Edmans, Professor of Finance, London Business School
  • Professor Gitanjali Nain Gill, Professor of Environmental Law, Northumbria University
  • Professor Judith Harford, Professor of Education, University College Dublin
  • Professor Alison Koslowski, Pro-Provost (Equity & Inclusion)/Professorial Director of the Thomas Coram Research Unit
  • Dr John Llewellyn, Partner, Independent Economics
  • Professor Joan Loughrey, Head of the School of Law, Queens University Belfast
  • Professor Muiris MacCarthaigh, Professor of Politics and Public Policy, Queen’s University Belfast
  • Dr Adam Marshall CBE, Specialist Partner, Flint Global
  • Professor Robert McMaster, Professor of Political Economy, Adam Smith Business School, University of Glasgow
  • Ms Auriol Miller, Director, Institute of Welsh Affairs
  • Professor Peter Murphy, Professor of Public Policy and Management, Nottingham Trent University
  • Professor Marina Novelli, Professor of Tourism and International Development, University of Nottingham
  • Professor Onyeka Osuji, Professor of Law/ Dean of Essex Law School, Essex Law School, University of Essex
  • Professor Tejendra Pherali, Professor of Education, Conflict and Peace, University College London
  • Professor Amanda Perry-Kessaris, Professor of Law, University of Kent
  • Professor Neil Pollock, Professor of Innovation and Social Informatics, University of Edinburgh Business School
  • Professor Jiří Přibáň, Professor of Law, Cardiff University
  • Professor Imran Rasul OBE, Professor of Economics, University College London
  • Professor Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President and Provost, University of Toronto
  • Professor Ricardo Sabates Aysa, Professor of Education and International Development, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Russell Sandberg, Professor of Law, Cardiff University
  • Dr Nick Saville, Director of Research Institute & Professor in Language Assessment, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Alister Scott, Professor of Environmental Geography and Planning, Northumbria University
  • Mr Gavin Smart, Chief Executive Officer, Chartered Institute of Housing
  • Professor Sarah Smith OBE, Professor of Economics, University of Bristol
  • Mr Will Snell, Chief Executive, Fairness Foundation
  • Professor Neil Spencer, Professor of Applied Statistics, University of Hertfordshire
  • Mr Philip Stephens, Author and Journalist, Financial Times
  • Professor Allen Thurston, Professor of Education, Director of Research in the School of Social Sciences, Education & Social Work, Queen’s University Belfast
  • Ms Kitty Ussher, Chief Economist, Institute of Directors
  • Professor Robert Vanderbeck, Professor of Human Geography, School of Geography, University of Leeds
  • Professor Louise Waite, Professor of Human Geography, School of Geography, University of Leeds
  • Professor Paresh Wankhade, Professor of Leadership and Management, Edge Hill University
  • Mr Rob Whiteman CBE, Chief Executive, Chartered Institute of Public Finance and Accountancy (CIPFA)
  • Professor Frank Witlox, Senior Full Professor of Economic Geography, Ghent University
  • Professor Pengjun Zhao, Professor and Dean of the School of Urban Planning and Design, Peking University


Notes to Editors

For further information contact:

Amy Williams (Communications Manager) at a.williams@acss.org.uk/media@acss.org.uk

About the Academy of Social Sciences

The Academy of Social Sciences is the national academy of academics, practitioners and learned societies in the social sciences. The sector’s leading independent voice in the UK, we champion the vital role social sciences play in education, governments and business.

The social sciences include: anthropology; business, finance & management; development studies; economics; economic & social history; education; human geography; law; planning; politics; regional studies; sociology; social policy; social psychology; social statistics & methodologies.