The Academy of Social Sciences welcomes 41 leading social scientists to its Fellowship

The Academy of Social Sciences is delighted to welcome 41 leading social scientists to our Fellowship this spring.

Elected for their substantial contributions to social science in a range of areas including land law reform, rural socio-economic change, ageing populations, social inequalities, urban development challenges and migration, this spring’s cohort of Fellows highlight the importance, breadth and relevance of the social sciences to tackling the varied challenges facing society today. As well as excellence in research and professional use of social science, our new Fellows, who are drawn from a variety of backgrounds, disciplines and professions, have also made significant contributions beyond the academy, including to industry, policy and higher education.

President of the Academy, Will Hutton, said: “At a time when the importance of the social sciences to addressing many pressing issues cannot be overstated, it’s a pleasure to welcome these 41 leading social scientists to the Academy’s Fellowship. Their contributions have furthered our understanding in tackling a wide range of societal challenges including mitigating health and economic inequalities, understanding the causes and effects of hate crime, the development of inclusive practices in education, and the future of cities. We look forward to working with them to further promote the vital role the social sciences play in all areas of our lives.”

The Academy’s Fellowship comprises over 1,500 leading social scientists from academia, the public, private and third sectors. Our Fellows’ expertise covers the breadth of the social sciences, and their practice and research addresses some of the major challenges facing communities, society, places and economies. All Academy Fellows are selected through an independent peer review which recognises their excellence and impact, including their wider contributions to social sciences for public benefit.

The new Fellows have been elected from 30 UK organisations, comprising 25 Higher Education Institutions, as well as think tanks, research institutes and nonprofits, and from countries beyond the UK including Australia and South Korea.

We warmly welcome them to the Academy and look forward to engaging with them to advance understanding of our contemporary human world and to shape a better future.

The full list of this spring’s Fellows:

  • Professor Michele Acuto, Director, Melbourne Centre for Cities, University of Melbourne
  • Professor Sarah Ayres, Professor of Public Policy and Governance, University of Bristol
  • Professor John Boswell, Professor of Politics and Public Policy, University of Southampton
  • Professor Tine Buffel, Professor of Sociology and Social Gerontology, University of Manchester
  • Professor Carlos Carrillo-Tudela, Professor in Economics, University of Essex
  • Professor Stephanie Decker, Professor of Strategy and Deputy Dean, University of Birmingham
  • Professor Emilia Del Bono, Professor of Economics, University of Essex
  • Professor Kezia Dugdale, Associate Director, Centre for Public Policy, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Ruth Dukes, Professor of Labour Law, University of Glasgow
  • Carl Emmerson, Deputy Director for the Institute of Fiscal studies, The Institute for Fiscal Studies (IFS)
  • Professor Marie Fox, Queen Victoria Chair of Law, University of Liverpool
  • Tim Gardam, Chief Executive, Nuffield Foundation
  • Professor Karen Guldberg, Professor in Autism Studies, University of Birmingham
  • Paul Hackett, Director, The Smith Institute
  • Professor Carol Holland, Chair in Ageing, Lancaster University
  • Professor Matthew Johnson, Professor of Public Policy, Northumbria University
  • Stephen King, Economist and author
  • Professor Dina Kiwan, Professor in Comparative Education, University of Birmingham
  • Professor Melanie Klinkner, Professor in International Law, Bournemouth University
  • Professor Huck-ju Kwon, Professor Graduate School of Public Administration, Seoul National University
  • Professor Stuart Macdonald, Professor of Law, Swansea University
  • Professor Ambreena Manji, Professor of Land Law and Development, Cardiff University
  • Professor Ruth McAreavey, Professor of Sociology, Newcastle University
  • Professor Gráinne McKeever, Professor of Law and Social Justice, Ulster University
  • Professor Chris Minns, Professor of Economic History, London School of Economics & Political Science
  • Professor Daniel Monk, Professor of Law, Birkbeck, University of London
  • Professor Thérèse Murphy, Professor of Law, Queen’s University Belfast
  • Professor Jemina Napier, Chair of Intercultural Communication, Heriot-Watt University
  • Professor Sarah Neal, Professor of Sociology, University of Sheffield
  • Professor Catherine Needham, Professor of Public Policy and Public Management, University of Birmingham
  • Professor Nicholas Phelps, Associate Dean (International) and Chair of Urban Planning, University of Melbourne
  • Professor Lorna Philip, Personal Chair, University of Aberdeen
  • Professor Fernanda Pirie, Professor of the Anthropology of Law, University of Oxford
  • Professor George Saridakis, Professor of Small Business and Entrepreneurship, University of Kent
  • Professor Rosalind Searle, Professor of Human Resource Management and Organisational Psychology, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Sharifah Sekalala, Professor of Global Health Law, University of Warwick
  • Dr Gillian Tett OBE, Provost at King’s College, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Wendy Thomson CBE, Vice Chancellor, University of London
  • Professor Mark Walters, Professor of Criminal Law and Criminology, University of Sussex
  • Stian Westlake, Executive Chair, Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC)
  • Professor Tim Wildschut, Professor of Social and Personality Psychology, University of Southampton


Notes to Editors

For further information contact:

Amy Williams (Senior Communications Manager) at

About the Academy of Social Sciences

The Academy of Social Sciences is the national academy of academics, practitioners and learned societies in the social sciences. The sector’s leading independent voice in the UK, we champion the vital role social sciences play in education, governments and business.

The social sciences include: anthropology; business, finance & management; development studies; economics; economic & social history; education; human geography; law; planning; politics; regional studies; sociology; social policy; social psychology; social statistics & methodologies.